Chitwan is one of the 75 Districts of Nepal, and is located in the western part of the Narayani Zone with Bharatpur, the fifth largest city of Nepal. It covers an area of 2,218km and population of almost 600,000 people.

Chitwan Valley is one of Nepals’s Inner Terai valleys between the Mahabharat and Siwalik ranges, both considered foothills of the Himalayas. It is drained by the (East) Rapti River, which flows from the eastern Mahabharat Range into the valley near Hetauda, where it turns west and flows along the axis of the valley. About 20 km west of Hetauda the Rapti meets the eastern border of Chitwan National Park. For the next 70 km, it forms a natural boundary between human settlements on its right and protected area on its left.